How do I co-edit a story?

This article will cover:

  • Inviting Collaborators
  • Removing Collaborators

Invite Collaborators

Collaborators can help edit your story or report. 

 

If you are in the story editor

  • click on the picture of your face under "AUTHORS & COLLABORATORS
  • On the collaborator's list, click "ADD".
  • You have 2 options:
    • (a) Share a private link. Share this link with your collaborators.
    • (b) type in email and press ENTER. The collaborator will receive and email inviting them to the story. 
  • The newly-added collaborator will be directed to a publish version of the story and click Edit to make changes. They should also notice that the shared story has now been added to their list (Left Nav > Stories > Newly-shared Story). They may need to refresh their screen to see it.  

Note: Sharing the url link of the story will (unfortunately) not work unless people have been formally added as collaborators. 

IMPORTANT NOTE about CO-EDITING a Collaborative Report: Its best to coordinate with your collaborators so they do not save over your work. We recommend EDIT & SAVE. Then hand off.  We aspire for the ability to edit at the exact same time (like Google Docs), but we aren't quite there yet. 

If you are in a published story: 

  • click on "Share" Button
  • On the Share menu, click "Collaborators"
  • On the collaborator's list, click "ADD".
  • You have 2 options:
    • (a) Share a private link. Share this link with your collaborators.
    • (b) type in email and press ENTER. The collaborator will receive and email inviting them to the story. 
  • The newly-added collaborator will be directed to a publish version of the story and click Edit to make changes. They should also notice that the shared story has now been added to their list (Left Nav > Stories > Newly-shared Story). They may need to refresh their screen to see it.  

 

 

 

 

 

Remove Collaborators

If you are the Owner of the story, you can remove collaborators. Simply go to: Left Navigation > My Stories > Select the Story > Collaborator Icons > Click "X" next to the name of the collaborator you wish to delete.

You can also go to Published Story > Share > Collaborators

If you would like to change Editing permission without removing collaborators. Go to My Story Editor > Settings > Sharing & Privacy > and switch collaborator permissions to View Only.

 

If you are not the Owner of the story and wish to edit the story without all of those meddlesome and pesky collaborators, we recommend making a copy of the story. My Story Editor > Settings > Make a Copy. This will save an exact copy and will not have collaborators.

 

 

This article should help answer the question:s 

  • how do I access a collaborative report?
  • how do i share a report? 
  • can i co-edit a report?
  • can i remove collaborators?
  • can someone else edit my report?
  • how do i get a collection that has been shared with me?

Did this help answer your question?

thumbs up
thumbs down

Thanks for the feedback! 🙏🏽